10 Things You Should Do Before Hitting “PUBLISH”

You’ve written a fantastic blog post and think it’s ready for the inevitable future of praise and glory. But wait. Did you forget something? Have a look at the 10 Things You Should Do Before Hitting “PUBLISH” and make sure you haven’t!

10 Things You Should Do Before Hitting PUBLISH

1. CHECK YOUR POST TITLE

Your post title should give a rough indication as to what the post will discuss, so try to keep it relevant to the post. Misleading titles may result in a higher number of clicks but the readers will quickly notice if your post does not deliver what it promised, leaving you with a higher bounce rate and lower session time. 

The optimal post title will usually have between 6 to 10 words and include some powerful or emotional words that will peak your readers’ interest.  If your post contains a list, you should also specify how many points will be discussed (like I did in the title of this post). To check the quality and effectiveness of your blog post title, type it into the Headline Analyser. Then, tweak it word by word until you’re happy with the score. Just remember that a better title is one that flows and reads naturally; not one with the highest score. So use with caution.

2. ADD LABELS

Much like your post title, the post labels will act to describe what your post is about. By crafting relevant labels you will be able to sort your posts into categories, link to related content and your content will be more easily located through Google search.


3. ADD LINKS TO PREVIOUS POSTS

Whether your post mentions something you’d previously discussed or if it is simply written on the same/similar topic, it wouldn’t hurt to link a few of your previous posts. This can either be done throughout the text (if the information is truly relevant and either adds to or explains your point), or at the beginning/end of post to direct your readers to previous posts within the series or other relevant content.

Not only will you increase your SEO by building links to your posts, but you will also reduce your site bounce rate as readers will be far more likely to click on a suggested post rather than go searching for it through your archives. Win.

4. CHECK YOUR LINKS OPEN IN A NEW TAB

Any links you decide to include in your post should open in a new tab so as to not redirect your readers to a different page halfway through your post. Not only is that annoying for you and your readers, but there’s also a good chance that your reader will not come back to finish reading the rest of your post.

If you blogging platform does not offer you the choice of opening the link in a new tab, simply add target=”_blank” to your link code. 

Example: <a href=”webiste link” target=”_blank”>Phrase/Image that will send readers to the website</a>

5. ADD IMAGE PROPERTIES

I won’t pretend to know much about SEO because quite frankly, it scares me. What I do know is that describing the image or using the post title within the ALT text field of the image properties is a quick little thing that will go a long way. Firstly, keywords will push your image up through Google Images; secondly, users who cannot see images (whether due to a slow Internet connection or their own browser preferences) will be able to see the ALT tag and know what the image space should contain.

6. SHORTEN PERMALINK

Unless you decide to do it yourself, your blogging platform will generate your blog post links for you using as many words from the post title as it can fit. All too often this will result in a very long link that doesn’t really indicate what the post is about as the last few words of the post title did not fit into the link. Generating your own link will allow you to be more concise and descriptive, keeping the link slightly tidier.

It is strongly advisable to do this before publishing your post. While it is completely possible to change your permalink after publishing, you should keep in mind that all links shared on social media to promote this post will break and no longer lead to the post-in-question.

7. ADD A CUSTOM SEARCH DESCRIPTION

Unless you write a custom search description, Google will simply use the beginning of your post to appear as a blurb within the Google search. While this may work perfectly well for you and your blog, results will depend strongly on your writing style. 

Your search description should ideally be one of two things: a captivating sentence that intrigues the reader into clicking the link to learn more, or a very brief description of the post letting the reader know what they will get out of clicking your link.

8. PREVIEW POST

You should always, always, always preview your post before publishing to make sure that your post layout has no awkward spaces or unwanted text formatting. Bad formatting will hurt your views.


9. PROOF READ

With a million ideas running though your head followed by the countless different ways you want to phrase your sentence, it’s all too easy to forget to check whether the rest of your sentence/paragraph still makes sense. So when you think you’re ready to publish your post, give it a quick read over and make sure it flows nicely.

10. BACK UP

We’re the generation that is very much accustomed to the digital life and feel relatively safe with all our content and data being stored online. But do you ever worry that all those photos you’ve been meaning to print off will just disappear with a little glitch or a virus? How about your blog posts that exist only on your blogging platform? Website shut-down, disabled account, or a simple anger or sadness driven “delete all” can result in the loss of all that hard work. Back it up into a Word Document and store it on an external hard drive to be safe!


○ Till next post ○

6 thoughts on “10 Things You Should Do Before Hitting “PUBLISH”

  1. Oh what a good checklist! I'm rather pleased to see that I do most of these…. But I've never really thought about backing up in a word doc… thanks for the tip! :)www.lovedbylaura.com

    Like

  2. It's always nice going through someone else's checklist and seeing that you've got it down! Haha.As for backing up, it's not exactly a necessary step and it will in no way improve your blog, but I'm a little paranoid about the fact that this is the ONLY place my blog posts are stored and I don't have complete control over what happens to my account and no control whatsoever about what happens to the whole site. So better safe than sorry!

    Like

  3. This is a really handy list to have! Thanks for sharing! I tend to write my blog posts in Google Docs before transferring it over to WordPress and I'm trying to save my photos in a few locations now too – I don't know what I would do if something happened to my blog and I had to start from scratch! I always forget to edit my permalink before I publish the post, definitely need to remember this! Great post, thanks for sharing xemily x ❤ | emilyloula

    Like

  4. Glad to hear that you found this useful! I actually never thought of writing up the posts in Google Docs… I always either type it up straight in blogger or use Microsoft Word (for a range of fonts, mostly!) The only time I've use Google Docs was when I was writing my blog posts on the go! Haha.

    Like

  5. I haven't Considered backing up! I am looking into blogging tips because I feel a bit frustrated with my traffic. My blogs look right but I haven't had comments to see how am I doing so far. I removed the search bar because my blog is just new and I feel like I don't need it? When do you suggest that I need a search bar?This post will help me for sure!

    Like

  6. There's probably nothing more demotivating than low traffic or engagement (or both!) when you're pouring your heart and soul into your blog. If you've just begun, you probably don't need a search bar but you should get a related posts widget. This will show additional content to your readers straight from the post and keep them around (and clicking around the site) for longer. As for comments, engagement's tricky. First of all, your content has to engage the reader, so it has to be relatable or entertaining. For example, my "Top 5 Make-Up Fails From My Teenage Years" post has gotten the most engagement from anything I'd ever written. That's because it was relatable AND entertaining/amusing. It also opened the door to readers to share their own experiences which I asked for at the end of the post. Extra suggestion, when you leave comments on other blogs, include a link to your own blog 🙂 That gets a bit of traffic to you too 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment